We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Art of Noticing
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

131 exercises and provocations to help you tune out white noise, get unstuck from your screen and manage daily distractions, for fans of other personal development gift books Things You Can Only See When You Slow Down (100k TCM) and Steal Like an Artist (30k TCM).

About the Author

Rob Walker is a journalist who writes about design, technology, business and the arts, among other subjects. He writes The Workologist for the Sunday Business section of The New York Times and contributes to a wide range of publications, including The Atlantic, NewYorker.com, The New York Times, The New York Times Magazine, The Boston Globe and Bloomberg Businessweek. His previous books include Significant Objects- 100 Extraordinary Stories About Ordinary Things (co-authored with Joshua Glenn) and Buying In. He is on the faculty of the Products of Design MFA program at the School of Visual Arts. He lives in New Orleans, USA.

Reviews

Attention is a precious resource, one we waste in stupid ways. And attention is a muscle, one we can easily develop. In this refreshingly practical book, Rob Walker gives us 131 ways to treasure and improve our ability to see.

* Seth Godin, author of This is Marketing *

If you want a more interesting and creative life, the first thing to do is to start paying better attention to it. In The Art of Noticing, Rob Walker provides an essential guide to becoming an explorer of your everyday world. I found a ton to steal here and so will you.

* Austin Kleon, New York Times bestselling author of Steal Like An Artist *

In the tradition of John Berger, Susan Sontag, and George Nelson, Rob Walker offers a guide not to looking but to seeing - and why the difference is crucial. At once passionate and charming, he makes the case that noticing what's there is the first step in creating what's new.

* Michael Bierut, cofounder of Design Observer and author of Now You See It and Other Essays on Design *
The Art Of Noticing is a book about reading, verbal and non-verbal reading, which is how we increasingly read now, and how we have always read. Walker encourages us to make a non-literal reading of our world, which can mean non-judgmental and more enlightened.* Leanne Shapton, author of Guestbook *
Rob Walker's writing has always been wonderful because of his unique eye for noticing what other people miss. With this new book, he's basically teaching you all his secrets for seeing. * Ryan Holiday, bestselling author of Ego is the Enemy and The Obstacle Is The Way *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top