We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Doctor with an Eye for Eyes
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Julia Finley Mosca is a copywriter and former journalist who spent more than a decade in Hollywood crafting messages for money. After working with such recognizable brands as Entertainment Tonight, Yahoo!, American Greetings, and JibJab, she landed her most rewarding job yet-mom to one ferociously curious and spunky little girl. The Amazing Scientists series marks Mosca's debut into the magical world of children's books. Daniel Rieley is a British freelance illustrator based in Lisbon. After studying at The Arts Institute Bournemouth, taking an epic backpacking adventure in Australia, and working three years in London, he decided to take off to sunny Portugal. For the last two years, Rieley has been working on several illustration projects in advertising, print, card design, and children's picture books. When Rieley is not drawing you can probably find him trying to catch waves, taking photos with old cameras, or playing his newly discovered sport Padel.

Reviews

A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books for Kids 2017 Selection Praise for THE GIRL WHO THOUGHT IN PICTURES (Amazing Scientists series): "Rhyming verse and appealing cartoon illustrations capture Grandin's spirit while providing an exciting, informative look at her remarkable life. Invaluable back matter contains a letter from Temple, fun facts, a time line accompanied by family photographs, and an insightful biography....this is the first volume in a promising new series introducing readers to remarkable women in the sciences." --School Library Journal "Fans of Andrea Beaty's Rosie Revere, Engineer (2013), or anyone who has struggled over feeling different, will appreciate this approachable biography of a inspiring scientist." -- Booklist "The author speaks directly and inclusively...this is an effective, age-appropriate introduction to a remarkable person." -- Kirkus Reviews "I'm really digging this new picture book bio series, Amazing Scientists! Lower word count, rhyming text, and sweet illustrations make them accessible to even the youngest reader/listener. More importantly, they profile still living women scientists & doctors who persevered against the odds, pursued their passions, and became leaders in their fields." -- Kathleen Carey, Bookseller at Book House of Stuyvesant Plaza "Think of this as a real-life Rosie Revere Engineer or Ada Twist Scientist! Refreshing to see a kids' picture book biography about someone I hadn't known previously." -- Tegan Tigani, Children's Book Seller at Queen Anne Bookstore

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top