Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Full Cry (Foxhunting Mysteries


Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Rita Mae Brown is the bestselling author of the Sneaky Pie Brown series; the Sister Jane series; A Nose for Justice and Murder Unleashed; Rubyfruit Jungle; In Her Day; and Six of One, as well as several other novels. An Emmy-nominated screenwriter and a poet, Brown lives in Afton, Virginia.


Brown has proven to be skilled in a number of genres, including mystery, but this, her third foxhunting novel, falls short. While Sister Jane Arnold can be an engaging master of the hunt and a wiser elder citizen reawakening to love, she serves more as a preacher on the merits and foibles of foxhunting and foxhunters. The animal characters are fun as observers and equal participants, owing a debt perhaps to Brown's more successful Sneaky Pie mysteries. But this audiobook is clearly not up to the producer's usual standards: there are numerous reading errors, as the author restarts lines or makes corrections, none of which were edited out, and one can hear her turn pages. As a reader, Brown never captures the characters' true voices or spirits. The description on the package even misidentifies who is murdered and summarizes the subsequent mystery incorrectly. Not recommended.-Joyce Kessel, Villa Maria Coll., Buffalo, NY Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top