Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Promotions through libraries, reading groups and independents will guarantee this to be a word-of-mouth bestseller Rights have been sold in 11 countries For readers of Maeve Binchy, Rosamund Pilcher, Joanne Harris and Mary Wesley - and fans of 84 Charing Cross Road

About the Author

Mary Ann Shaffer was born in Martinsburg, West Virginia. She now lives in San Francisco with her husband and two daughters. This is her first novel. Annie Barrows is Mary Ann Shaffer's neice. A former editor, she is the author of the very successful Ivy and Bean series of children's books.

Reviews

Shaffer's debut novel, written with her niece Barrow, is an original account of one writer's relationship with a member of a unique book club formed as an alibi to protect its members from arrest at the hands of the Nazis during WWII. With a small cast of gifted narrators including Paul Boehmer, Susan Duerdan, John Lee, Rosalyn Landor and the enjoyable Juliet Mills, this production is first-class from top to bottom. The narrators' British dialects, each quite regional and equally as different as they are ear-pleasing, serve the story well and allow Shaffer's words to leap from the page into the hearts and minds of her listeners. The final result is an almost theatrical experience with a plethora of enthusiastic performances. A Dial Press hardcover (Reviews, Apr. 21). (July) Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

Read LJ's 9/9/08 starred audio review of this debut title, currently a best seller in hardcover, which was recently optioned for film, at xpressreview.notlong.com. Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

'Charming ... one to lift even the most cynical of spirits' The Times 'Thronging with lovable people ... golden comedy' Guardian 'What a gorgeous book - very touching and funny' Joanna Lumley 'Delightfully spirited and quirky novel-of-letters ... You'd have to be pretty hard-hearted not to fall under its spell' Daily Mail Books of the Year

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top