We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Free UK shipping on

10 million books



Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

1: Heidegger's life 2: Heidegger's philosophy 3: Being 4: Dasein 5: The world-historical 6: Language, truth, and care 7: Time, death, and conscience 8: Temporality, transcendence, and freedom 9: History and world-time 10: After Being and Time 11: St. Martin of Messkirch? Further reading Glossary Index

About the Author

Born In London in 1944, Michael Inwood studied classics and specialised in philosophy at University College, Oxford. He was Fellow and Tutor in Philosophy at Trinity College, Oxford, from 1967 until 2011, and is now an Emeritus Fellow of the College. Inwood is the author of several books on German philosophy, including A Heidegger Dictionary (Wiley-Blackwell, 1999), and, in 2018, completed a translation of Hegel's The Phenomenology of Spirit (OUP).


This antidote to the bafflement with which Heidegger's writings are often received is authored with exemplary clarity. Incisive and accessible, Inwoods cool-headed clarifications will be welcomed both inside and outside philosophy. * Stephen Priest, Research Fellow in Philosophy of Science and Philosophy of Religion, Catholic Faculty of Theology, Ruhr Universitat Bochum *
This is the best short introduction to Heidegger, written by one of the most prominent experts in the field. It is particularly strong on the early and middle Heidegger, including the question of Being and the essence of truth and art. * Edward Kanterian, author of Kant, God and Metaphysics *
Review from previous edition Inwood's work is a fine little book; a transparent window onto Heidegger that renders him fascinating and profound.' * John Shand, Philosophical Books *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top