We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Hindi-Bindi Club
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

For fans of Meera Syal, Amy Tan and the BAFTA award-winning film East is EastLavishly decorative outdoor 6 sheet advertising will focus on urban areas in cities with large Asian communitiesA glorious book group choice, complete with recipes, The Hindi-Bindi Club was longlisted for World Book Day's Spread the Word 2008

About the Author

Monica Pradhan's parents emigrated to the United States from Mumbai, India, in the 1960s. She was born in Pittsburgh, grew up in the suburbs of Washington, DC and now lives in Minneapolis and Toronto with her husband.

Reviews

The age-old intergenerational struggle between mothers and daughters gets a curried twist in Pradhan's debut, in which the subcontinent meets the modern West. As children, first-generation Americans Kiran Deshpande, Preity Chawla Lindstrom and Rani McGuiness Tomashot gently mocked their Indian mothers, collectively nicknamed "The Hindi-Bindi Club" for their Old World leanings. Though the three are now successful adults, they aren't necessarily seen as such by their parents. For starters, none married Indian men. But now, Kiran's parents may get their chance to "semi-arrange" a marriage for their divorced daughter as she considers the possibility that there may be something to the old ways. Preity, mostly happily married to business school beau Eric, carries a small torch for a long-lost love-a Muslim her parents didn't approve of-and considers seeking him out. Meanwhile, rocket scientist Rani's passion for art starts to pay off as she becomes spiritually listless. Pradhan's debut is breezy (there are enough recipes dotting the narrative to fill a cookbook), though it touches on not-so sunny issues-prejudice, breast cancer, infidelity. The prose isn't dynamite and the characters are stock, but the novel easily fulfills its ready-made requirements. (May) Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

'Plump with curry recipes and tales from back home, this jaunty read takes up the cultural and emotional challenges facing three grown-up daughters of Indian immigrants in America' Good Housekeeping 'Cracking ... a light and charming story, as uplifting as the comfort food on which it instructs' Observer 'A warm and candid book ... It also features some delicious recipes - ideal food for a book-club evening!' Bella 'Half cookbook, half tale of Eastern promise, this is the story of the Hindi-Bindi Club ... a tale of Mum knows best' Company Best Page-turners for Summer

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top