We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Free UK shipping on

10 million books

The Idea of Russia


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

Preface. A Russian Fox 1. Vanishing Russia, 1906-1921 2. Patriotism of Pity, 1921-1928 3. Through the Gulag and Great Terror, 1928-41 4. The Great Fatherland War, 1941-1945 5. Patriotism Defiled, 1945-1955 6. Advocate of Cultural Legacy, 1956-1965 7. The Making of a Wise Man, 1966-1976 8. Recognition, 1976-1988 9. Preparing for Collapse, 1988-1991 10. The Smoke of the Homeland, 1991-1999 Conclusion. Death and Beyond

Promotional Information

Thoroughly-researched biography of leading Russian intellectual

About the Author

Vladislav Zubok is Professor of International History at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE). He has previously taught at Stanford University, University of Michigan, Amherst College, Temple University and Ohio University and has served as a fellow at the National Security Archive, a non-government organization at the University of George Washington. His publications include A Failed Empire: The Soviet Union in the Cold War from Stalin to Gorbachev and Zhivago's Children: The Last Russian Intelligentsia.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top