We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Jamaica Inn
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

* Target Mother/Daughter summer reading promotions, with the YA and adult editions of the books * Website coverage * Events/festivals reevaluating du Maurier and her legacy * Social media competitons

About the Author

Daphne du Maurier (1907-89) was born in London, the daughter of the famous actor-manager Sir Gerald du Maurier and granddaughter of George du Maurier, the author and artist. In 1931 her first novel, The Loving Spirit, was published. A biography of her father and three other novels followed, but it was the novel Rebecca that launched her into the literary stratosphere and made her one of the most popular authors of her day. In 1932, du Maurier married Major Frederick Browning, with whom she had three children.Many of du Maurier's bestselling novels and short stories were adapted into award-winning films, including Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds and Nicolas Roeg's Don't Look Now. In 1969 du Maurier was awarded a DBE. She lived most of her life in Cornwall, the setting for many of her books.

Reviews

A perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights - IndependentA dark tale. A brilliant thriller - Daily ExpressJamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner - The TimesDaphne du Maurier has no equal - Sunday Telegraph

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top