We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Kings and Emperors (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Dewey Lambdin is the author of over twenty Alan Lewrie novels, which begin with The King's Coat and span the years of the American Revolution and the Napoleonic Wars. A member of the U.S. Naval Institute and a Friend of the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich, England, he spends his free time working and sailing on a rather tatty old sloop. He makes his home in Nashville, Tennessee.

Reviews

"Great naval action and deep historical detail in the vein of O'Brian and Forester." --Kirkus Reviews (starred)"You could get addicted to this series. Easily." --The New York Times Book Review"The best naval adventure series since C. S. Forester." --Library Journal"Check the log, shipmate: Dewey Lambdin has left Alexander Kent and C.S. Forester hull-down in an ocean of words and is closing on Patrick O'Brian as the most prolific historical novelist to celebrate a Royal Navy mariner during the age of sail." --Washington Times"Lambdin succeeds with high-seas action, bravado, and Lewrie's characteristic antics, putting himself in good company with Julian Stockwin and Seth Hunter as worthy successors to the popular 18th- and 19th-century naval adventures of Forester, Kent, and Pope. ... Lewrie is a delightfully randy and irreverent character, the perfect man to walk the quarterdeck of a Royal Navy frigate." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)"A hugely entertaining naval adventure (a la Forester and O'Brian) with a different kind of protagonist.... Not merely a worthy entry in the very popular Lewrie series but a top-of-the-line naval adventure that can be thoroughly enjoyed by readers who've never met Captain Lewrie until now." --Booklist"The brilliantly stylish American master of salty-tongued British naval tales." --Kirkus Reviews"Lewrie is a marvelous creation, resourceful and bold." --James L. Nelson, author of the Revolution at Sea Saga"Stunning naval adventure, reeking of powder and mayhem. I wish I had written this series." --Bernard Cornwell"Naval adventures in the time of wooden ships and iron men form a distinct literary genre. Nashville novelist Dewey Lambdin has mastered it." --Chapter 16"Lewrie is a delightfully randy and irreverent character, the perfect man to walk the quarterdeck of a Royal Navy frigate." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top