We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

The Lakota Way


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

The Lakota Way - Joseph M. Marshall III Acknowledgments
Introduction: Let the Wind Blow Through You
1. Humility - Unsciiciyapi
2. Perseverance - Wowacintanka
3. Respect - Wawoohola
4. Honor - Wayuonihan
5. Love - Cantognake
6. Sacrifice - Icicupi
7. Truth - Wowicake
8. Compassion - Waunsilapi
9. Bravery - Woohitike
10. Fortitude - Cantewasake
11. Generosity - Canteyuke
12. Wisdom - Woksape
Afterword - Wicoiye Ihanke:
The People
Walking the Circle

About the Author

Joseph M. Marshall III, historian, educator, and storyteller, is the author of many books, including The Journey of Crazy Horse and The Lakota Way: Stories and Lessons for the Living, which was a finalist for the PEN Center USA West Award in 2002. He was raised on the Rosebud Sioux Indian Reservation and his first language is Lakota. Marshall is a recipient of the Wyoming Humanities Award, and he has been a technical advistor and actor in television movies, including Return to Lonesome Dove. He makes his home on the Northern Plains.


Humility, perseverance, bravery, sacrifice and love are among the 12 values of the Lakota tribe that are presented through traditional stories and personal commentary in Joseph M. Marshall III's The Lakota Way: Stories and Lessons for Living. The legend of White Lance and Red Willow Woman teaches the importance of love and duty, for instance, while Marshall's account of his father's battle with cancer stresses the merits of bravery. The lessons for life, which stress the proverbial attributes of common sense and moral vigor, may not be surprising, but the stories that frame them will be new and forceful to most. (Oct.) Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.

Marshall was raised by his maternal grandparents on the Rosebud Indian Reservation in South Dakota, where he learned Lakota as his first language. Now a historian, actor (Return to Lonesome Dove), and author (Dance House), Marshall beautifully imparts Lakota wisdom here. He certainly knows how to weave a story. In each of the 12 chapters, he introduces an important Lakota virtue (e.g., unsiiciyapi, or humility; and wowacintanka, or perseverance), illustrating it with personal stories and archetypal Lakota tales. The afterword succinctly describes a brief history of the Sioux people. An inspiring study guide for a wide audience, Marshall's book belongs on the same shelf as Severt Young Bear's Standing in the Light (Univ. of Nebraska, 1994) and Billy Mills's Wokini: A Lakota Journey to Happiness (Hay House, 2001). Lisa Wise, Broome Cty. P.L., Binghamton, NY Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.

"The Lakota have a wisdom that transcends the ages, and Joseph Marshall delivers it with grace and power." -Marianne Williamson"Wise words by an authentic representative of Lakota culture...[An] inspirational book of a high order." -Kirkus Reviews

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top