We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Lone City 1
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Amy Ewing is a graduate of the New School's MFA program in Writing for Children, and has a BA from New York University. The daughter and granddaughter of librarians, she is a self-confessed high-fantasy nerd who meant to be an actor, but found herself a writer. She lives in New York.

Reviews

Dystopia with a feminist edge...hugely enjoyable, with strong characters and a nail-biting cliff-hanger. * The Bookseller *
A very good dystopic tale with a brilliant ending that will leave you wanting to read the next instalment * Loves Books Read Daily *
A shocking and compelling new YA series in a world where beauty and brutality collide -- Fiona Noble * Bookseller Children's Guide *
WOW...truly unique. Horrifying and gripping all at once. * COMPANY *
With echoes of The Handmaid's Tale, this is a fascinating fantasy. * Marie Claire *
A fantastically original new fantasy which examines notions of identity and personhood against a lavish backdrop of opulent parties and riches galore. With dashes of magic, mystery and romance at every turn, there is real cross-genre appeal here and there is sure to be a large fan base once The Jewel hits the shelves. With a plot that is fresh and original and characters that are Intriguing, The Jewel is a brilliant debut, and one full of promise for a stunning series to develop. I, for one, cannot wait to see what else Ewing has to offer. * We Love this Book *
Forbidden romance, life-threatening danger and a journey of terrible discoveries await in this thrilling opener to a daring, dynamic new series. * Lancashire Evening Post *
Intriguing. * Books for Keeps *
Compelling and heart pounding * Bath Chronicle *
'This dystopian, dark romance will appeal to fans of Allie Condie and The Hunger Games. * Reading Zone *
This book is truly incredible. -- Reader Review * The Guardian Online *
This is a really good book, full of suspense and a real page-turner. -- Anna Morrow * Teen Titles *
"This breath-taking YA novel follows the story of Violet Lasting, who loses her identity when she is auctioned off as a 'surrogate' in the Jewel of the Lone City. [...] We mean it when we say that The Jewel is impossible to put down - and be sure to watch out for that insane plot twist..." * Stylist *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top