We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

The Long, Long Afternoon
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A gripping and beguiling debut reading group mystery for fans of Tigers in Red Weather and Tangerine

About the Author

Inga Vesper is a journalist and editor. She moved to the UK from Germany to work as a carer, before the urge to write and explore brought her to journalism. As a reporter, she covered the coroner's court and was able to observe how family, neighbours and police react to a suspicious death. Inga has worked and lived in Syria and Tanzania, but always returned to London, because there's no better place to find a good story than the top deck of a bus.

Reviews

'A perfect read. California, 1959, a nation divided. In one stifling suburb murder plays out against a backdrop of racial & gender injustice. The desire for change rises from the pages like heat off a sidewalk' - Mary Paulson Ellis

'Mrs. Wheatley from The Queen's Gambit meets a smart and compelling murder mystery in this beautifully written novel. Bravo!' - Deborah O'Connor

'Beautifully written and brilliantly observed, as well as being a page-turning mystery. The 1950s come alive with issues that resonate today.' - Simon Lelic

'Raced through this very atmospheric novel set in a hot American 50s summer. Not just a beguiling murder mystery but also has important things to say about race, gender and class. Loved it!' - Araminta Hall

'I was hooked from the opening sentence. A sharp examination of privilege and oppression, it's completely gripping and kept me guessing right to the end' - Amanda Mason, author of The Wayward Girls

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top