We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Mafia Son
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

The Scarpas were a New York Mafia dynasty led by Greg Scarpa Senior, nicknamed 'The Grim Reaper' for his brutal addiction to violence and murder. This work tells a tale of violence, wealth, and sex, set in a world where a man's word is both everything and nothing.

About the Author

Sandra Harmon is the author of several bestselling books, including ELVIS AND ME, which she coauthored with Priscilla Presley. In MAFIA SON, Harmon was granted intimate access to the principals of the book--access that eventually got her subpoenaed in the highly publicized Lindley DeVecchio trials.

Reviews

Stressing the elements of irony and malice, Harmon (coauthor, Elvis and Me) sidesteps the usual Mob yarn to tell the somber, dark story of a coldhearted Mafia chieftain and his obedient son, who takes the fall for his father out of familial love and respect. Wily mob head Gregory Scarpa Sr., with a 50-man crew in Bensonhurst, Brooklyn, scammed, stole and killed under FBI protection starting in the 1960s, informing against hundreds of gangsters and crooked lawyers for decades. But when faced with arrest for his crimes, the elder Scarpa betrays his adoring son, Gregory Jr., whom he'd groomed to take his place. Convicted for racketeering, the young Scarpa does a long stretch in a federal maximum security prison, where in 1998 he overhears terrorist schemes to attack America from a prisoner named Ramzi Yousef. But his words are discounted until the September 11 attacks. Harmon, a very capable writer, gets inside the heads of the diabolical father and the submissive son (who is still in prison) in this sinister tale of bullets and betrayal. A disturbing, jagged true-crime thriller worthy of prime Hammett, Chandler or Puzo. (May) Copyright 2009 Reed Business Information.

'A disturbing, jagged true-crime thriller worthy of prime Hammett, Chandler or Puzo' Publishers Weekly 'A tense, penetrating psychological portrait of the Wiseguy who went right and paid the price. A true thriller in the tradition of Donnie Brasco and Goodfellas.' Robert Graysmith, author of Zodiac 'A vivid and accurate account of one of the most notorious and ruthless families in the history of organized crime. Sandra Harmon has captured - the very essence of the Scarpa family in all its savage, corrupt, and murderous glory.' Michael Vecchione, Chief of the Rackets Division, Kings County DA's Office. 'A punchy account of a poisonous familial relationship' Daily Express

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Nonfiction » True Crime » General
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top