We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!


The Maiden
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

'In the end, it did not matter what I said at my trial. No one believed me' . . . A gripping and haunting historical novel for fans of Stacey Halls and Sara Collins.

About the Author

Kate Foster has been a national newspaper journalist for over twenty years. Growing up in Edinburgh, she became fascinated by its history and often uses it as inspiration for her stories. The Maiden won the Bloody Scotland Pitch Perfect 2020 prize for new writers. She lives in Edinburgh with her two children.

Reviews

The Maiden is a masterpiece. A thrilling historical murder tale but so much more. Vivid, evocative and full of humanity.
*Janice Hallett, bestselling author of The Appeal and The Twyford Code*

This riveting debut novel by Kate Foster takes the true story of the murder [of James Forrester] and spins it into a mystery full of twists . . . The tension persists until the last page.
*The Times*

Kate Foster expands the slender facts of the case into something exceptional — a tense, thrilling investigation, with a decidedly feminist slant.
*Daily Mail*

Threat hangs over every page like the awaiting guillotine, but the women in this book gleam sharper. Witty, gritty and full of heart, their voices rise through the brutality and hardship of 17th century Edinburgh, battling to be heard
*Cari Thomas, bestselling author of Threadneedle*

The language and pace of The Maiden is fluent and driving . . . I was quickly gripped. Offers to film Foster’s novel should follow if there’s any sense in this world . . . This is an extremely promising debut by Foster.
*The National*

A gripping read with strong, compelling and unusual female characters - and a twisty plot that keeps the reader guessing. It cast a fresh light on a period of history when women have too often been seen merely as victims and brought them to life as protagonists in their own right
*Sally Hinchcliffe, author of Hare House*

Inspired by a real-life case, this historical murder mystery fictionalises an infamous crime of passion. Kate Foster reimagines the lives of the women at the centre of the story and paints a vivid and fascinating picture of 17th century Edinburgh
*Yours magazine*

Page-turning, transportive, funny, and tremendously moving, The Maiden is a book to lose yourself in - just make sure you don't have any plans, because once you start reading, you won't want to stop
*Jenny Ashcroft, author of Under the Golden Sun and The Echoes of Love*

Brave, bold and at times deliciously indecent with vivid characters that leap from the page and demand attention. Kate Foster has such a fresh, exhilarating voice
*Lizzie Pook, author of Moonlight and the Pearler's Daughter*

The Maiden is historical fiction at its finest. A true-life murder tale told thrilingly through the eyes of two very different women, yet both are fighting for their futures in a patriarchal world riven by hypocrisy
*D. V. Bishop, author of City of Vengeance*

A fabulous book . . . The writing is exquisite and it felt like a rare treat – a story totally rooted in its time and place, but that speaks across the generations
*Claire Evans, author of The Fourteenth Letter and The Graves of Whitechapel*

An engrossing, sometimes chilling, read as Kate Foster's imaginative retelling of an old tale takes her colourful characters on a complex ride through the intrigues and prejudices of seventeenth century Scotland
*Sarah Maine, author of The House Between Tides and The Awakenings*

A pleasingly female-led re-imagining of true historical events, The Maiden brings 17th century Edinburgh vividly to life in all its colour and stink
*Mary Paulson-Ellis, author of The Other Mrs Walker and Emily Noble's Disgrace*

A brilliantly bawdy, fabulously feminist take on a real life tragedy. A beautifully written thriller full of all too human characters. I loved it!
*Tina Baker, author of Call Me Mummy and Nasty Little Cuts*

Hugely compelling and completely unputdownable. Every time you think you know where the book is going, Kate Foster surprises you. The characterisation and the narrative voice are both so assured
*Katie Lumsden, author of The Secrets of Hartwood Hall*

An unforgettably vivid and very human story that had me glued to its twists and turns from the very first page. A strong contender for my top reads of 2023 already. A must read slice of historical fiction
*17 Degrees Magazine*

This is a thrilling revenge tragedy, atmospheric, compelling and delivering everything a good historical novel should
*Historical Novel Society*

The Maiden triumphs in its portrayal of the fight to overcome not just class, gender, and society, but the wayward, and often dubious, inclinations of the heart.
*The Saltire Society*

Ask a Question About this Product More...
 
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.

Back to top