We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!


A Marvellous Light
By

Rating
Hurry - Only 3 left in stock!

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A Marvellous Light is a delightful historical romp, perfect for fans of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell and The Invisible Library. In a magical Edwardian England, two magicians must unravel a mysterious contract that could have dire consequences for Britain.

About the Author

Freya Marske lives in Australia, where she is yet to be killed by any form of wildlife. She writes stories full of magic, blood, and as much kissing as she can get away with, and she co-hosts the Hugo Award-nominated podcast Be the Serpent. Her hobbies include figure skating and discovering new art galleries, and she is on a quest to try all the gin in the world. A Marvellous Light is her debut novel.

Reviews

Mystery! Magic! Murder! Long looks full of yearning! This book is a confection, both marvellous and light
*Alix E. Harrow*

That sublime prose! Her astonishing gift for imagery! And, of course, her bountiful and endless talent for writing some extremely sexy scenes. A Marvellous Light is all that and more. Perfect
*Jenn Lyons*

A magical world of exquisite refinement, where peril skims beneath manners, interiors bespeak both faultless taste and deadly secrets, and the sexual tension crescendos until it literally makes sparks fly. A dazzling debut
*Shelley Parker-Chan*

Romantic in the best way, funny, sharp, sexy, fantastical. Prepare to fall in love with the gorgeous Edwardian setting, the sizzling character dynamics, and the murderous enchanted hedge maze
*Emily Tesh*

Freya Marske's A Marvellous Light is an absolute delight. I was caught from the very beginning by the compellingly realized characters, the gorgeous and deadly magical world, and the fascinating mystery. If you ever wished Downton Abbey was sharper-edged and full of magic, this is the book for you
*Kat Howard*

Freya's prose is so splendid that merely reading it makes me feel like I've been filled to the brim with champagne bubbles. A Marvellous Light has everything you could ever want from a book – beautiful descriptions, expertly woven world-building, queer kissing, sexual tension in a library, quite a lot of William Morris wallpaper . . . This book is brilliant on every level. It is wondrous. It is, if you will excuse a small joke, marvellous
*Alexandra Rowland*

A charming, lovingly crafted adventure full of peril, romance and wit, illuminated by sparkling turns of phrase and a pervasive sense of humour
*A. K. Larkwood*

Equal parts fantasy, mystery and romance – with bonus murderous garden features – A Marvellous Light heralds a strong new voice in science fiction and fantasy
*Sam Hawke*

This romantic fantasy is full of fascinating world-building, layers upon layers of delicious magic, and characters I adored. I want to spend so much more time in this alternate England's enchanted libraries and sinister hedge mazes! The whole experience was a delight
*Stephanie Burgis*

A gripping story, told in precise and sensual language, with the kind of characters that make you want a spin-off book for even the ones you've barely met. Magic, romance and mayhem in a beautifully decorated – and occasionally actively dangerous – Edwardian setting
*Malka Older*

A completely enchanting story that sweeps you into a world of art and romance. Marske is an extraordinary talent who writes compelling characters, entertainingly awful families, and love stories like nobody else
*Everina Maxwell*

A breathtaking queer romantic fantasy . . . Sensual erotic scenes, an intriguing magic system, and a puzzling mystery combine to make this novel a wonder
*Publishers Weekly, starred review*

An enchanting, gripping and dazzling debut
*Daily Mail*

Compelling, sumptuously written, clever and brimming with intrigue and sexual tension (and its release) . . . The definition of reading for pure pleasure; we are ready for the next instalment, immediately
*Attitude Magazine*

Lush historical fantasy . . . a delightful book, with richly developed characters
*New York Times*

Ask a Question About this Product More...
 
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.

Back to top