We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

Free UK shipping on

10 million books

The New Me
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Halle Butler is a writer living in New York City. The author of Jillian, she has been named a National Book Award Foundation's "5 Under 35" honoree and a Granta Best Young American Novelist.

Reviews

A definitive work of millennial literature - New YorkerBrilliant. For fans of Ottessa Moshfegh's My Year of Rest and RelaxationFunny, shocking, clever, and hugely entertainingVicious ... hilariously spot on - GuardianThe best thing I've read in years. A dark delight. Viciously funny. Brilliantly subversive. - Emma Jane UnsworthHalle Butler is a first-rate satirist of the horror show being sold to us as Modern Femininity. She is Thomas Bernhard in a bad mood, wearing ill-fitting tights, scrutinizing old take-out leftovers. THE NEW ME shows us the futility of betterment in an increasingly paranoid era of self-improvement, one in which the female body is grated into little bloody empowered bits of itself. A dark comedy of female rage. Fucking hilarious.THE NEW ME renders contemporary American life in such vivid, stinging color, that certain sentences are liable to give the reader a paper cut. But you'll want to keep on reading anyway. Halle Butler is terrific, and I loved this book.A cringey book about someone's shitty life that makes you feel infinitely better about your own - Vanity Fair

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top