We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Night Diary
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again and The War That Saved My Life comes a poignant, personal, and hopeful tale of India's partition, and of one girl's journey to find a new home in a divided country.

About the Author

Veera Hiranandani earned her MFA in creative writing at Sarah Lawrence College. She is the author of The Whole Story of Half a Girl, which was named a Sydney Taylor Notable Book and a South Asian Book Award Finalist. A former book editor at Simon & Schuster, she now teaches creative writing at Sarah Lawrence College's Writing Institute and Writopia Lab.

Reviews

"Veera Hiranandani is a master storyteller. This riveting and important book speaks to the power of love in a world divided by hate and raises questions that still need to be asked seventy years after its events took place. Nisha and her story are a part of me now. My question is how do we make this a 'community read' for the whole world?"--James Howe, author of The Misfits

"Nisha's sweet, sheltered world disappears overnight when her country splits in two--now Hindus must live in India, Muslims in Pakistan. But Nisha's both. Where can her family be safe? Hiranandani's story is set in an historical time little known to American children, but she tells it in a way that makes it accessible, timely, interesting and real."--Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, author of Newbery Honor-winning The War That Saved My Life

"Veera Hiranandani's storytelling is exquisite and compelling. For Nisha, like so many of us, home is a complicated place and this heartbreaking and hopeful novel reminds us that even in places where there is great loss and strife, there is deep joy, renewed faith. The Night Diary is a treasure for young readers who are searching for their place in the world, who are determined to bring home with them wherever they go."--Renee Watson, Piecing Me Together * "Believable and heartbreaking...A gripping, nuanced story of the human cost of conflict appropriate for both children and adults."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review * "This rich, compelling story, which speaks to the turbulence surrounding India's independence and to the plight of refugees, should be in all libraries."--School Library Journal, starred review * "The diary format gives her story striking intimacy and immediacy, serving as a window into a fraught historical moment as Nisha grapples with issues of identity and the search for a home that remain quite timely."--Publishers Weekly, starred review "Hiranandani's prose shines in both emotion and simple, rich description...A clear, compelling, and deeply felt historical novel."--Booklist

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top