We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

An Officer and a Spy
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Robert Harris is the author of eight bestselling novels: Fatherland, Enigma, Archangel, Pompeii, Imperium, The Ghost Writer, Conspirata, and The Fear Index. Several of his books have been adapted to film, most recently The Ghost Writer. Harris's work has been translated into thirty-seven languages. He lives in the village of Kintbury, West Berkshire, with his wife, Gill Hornby.

Reviews


Winner of the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger and the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction British National Book Awards--Popular Fiction Book of the Year

"Outstanding . . . Finds its chilling thrills in the unlikeliest of places." --USA Today "[A] superb historical thriller. . . . Thick with scenes of code-breaking, covert surveillance, hairsbreadth escapes and violent death." --The Wall Street Journal "Harris has, with this novel, taken [Le Carre's] place as the master of making documents and scraps of paper, the details of painstaking intelligence work, into drama. " --The Daily Beast "[Harris] outdoes himself. The period details are pitch-perfect . . . and the action pulses with intensity." --The Miami Herald "A gripping tale." --The New York Times "Mesmerizing. . . . The Dreyfus affair remains astonishing, and this exceptional piece of popular fiction does it justice."
--The Washington Post "A thrilling page-turner. . . . Thick with espionage, daring and cruel turns of fate."
--New York Daily News "A crisp, fast-paced drama. . . . From one of the great scandals of the late 19th century, Harris has written a novel which is true to the facts, scrupulously so, but reads like a combination of Le Carre at his best and Conan Doyle writing about Sherlock Holmes."
--The Daily Beast "Robert Harris's novel speaks to our times in its examination of the potential dangers of military intelligence."
--Pittsburgh Post-Gazette "A compelling narrative of state corruption. . . . While finely attuned to modern resonances of surveillance, cultural identity and patriotic loyalty, Harris stays true to the atmosphere and morals of the period."
--The Guardian (UK) "A master storyteller at the top of his game. . . . The echoes of our own time are deafening. But Harris is far too smart to labor the point. He just drives his story forward, marshalling his cast of fools and knaves, soldiers and spies, dodgy handwriting experts and discreet mistresses, to superlative effect."
--Mail on Sunday (UK) "Claustrophobically gripping. . . . Written in elegant prose reminiscent of the 19th-century historical novel, but its form is a hybrid of the contemporary thriller, the spy novella and the courtroom drama. It is persuasive and engaging on all of these levels, while providing a unique and fresh reading of the Dreyfus affair."
--The Irish Times "Instantly absorbing. . . . Great for fans of Ken Follett, John le Carre, Louis Bayard, Caleb Carr, and Martin Cruz Smith."
--Booklist (starred review) "Easily the best fictional treatment of the Dreyfus Affair. . . . Harris perfectly captures the rampant anti-Semitism that led to Dreyfus's scapegoating."
--Publishers Weekly (starred review) "Espionage, counterespionage, a scandalous trial, a cover-up, and a man who tries to do right make this a complex and alluring thriller."
--Kirkus Reviews

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top