We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Republic Of Birds
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

From young rising star Jessica Miller comes this richly imagined fantasy adventure, an unmissable addition to the genre for readers of Jessica Townsend, Karen Foxlee and Philip Pullman.

About the Author

Jessica Miller is a children's writer and PhD student from Brisbane, currently living in Germany. She has written for a variety of publications including Kill Your Darlings and Stilts. Her first novel, Elizabeth and Zenobia, was shortlisted for the Readings Prize and was a CBCA Notable Book.

Reviews

'I loved this spicy fantasy with its unusual Russian influences and its clever, cartographer heroine.' * Isobelle Carmody *
'This book has so many things I love: maps, strange magic, living folklore, talking animals, history books, impossible challenges and a redoubtable heroine who mistakenly regards herself as untalented and unlovely, when she is quite the opposite. I couldn't have enjoyed reading this more, it's an absolute joy. Make a note for March next year: read The Republic of Birds.' * Leanne Hall *
'Oh my goodness, I would have gobbled this up as a kid. The story is just brilliant...I was completely in love from start to finish. What a feast! The world and its moving magical parts was simply wonderful. I loved everything. EVERYTHING.' * Karen Foxlee *
'I loved this strange, magical and captivating story.' * Carly Nugent *
'A lonely girl, a creepy house, spirit presences and long-ago mysteries-I'm completely in love with this novel.' * Karen Foxlee on Elizabeth and Zenobia *
'Readers will be absorbed by Elizabeth and Zenobia's conversations, the complex and chilling plot.' * Publishers Weekly on Elizabeth and Zenobia *
'By the time I reached the end of the book my heart was racing and I couldn't turn the pages fast enough...a simple, good-old-fashioned scary manor mystery.' * Books+Publishing on Elizabeth and Zenobia *
'A truly spellbinding tale...This latest offering from a magnificently talented author is sure to delight any reader who loves getting lost in magical landscapes full of wonder, adventure and enchantment.' * CBCA Reading Time *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top