Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Seeds of Earth


Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Michael Cobley was born in Leicester, England and has lived in Glasgow, Scotland for most of his life. He has studied engineering, been a DJ and has an abiding interest in democratic politics.

His previous books include the Shadowkings dark fantasy trilogy and Iron Mosaic, a short story collection. Seeds of Earth, The Orphaned Worlds, and The Ascendant Stars, books one, two and three of the Humanity's Fire sequence, were his first full-length forays into space opera.


Praise for the Humanity's Fire trilogy:

"Proper galaxy-spanning Space Opera ... a worthy addition to the genre"--Iain M. Banks
"A complex, finely detailed thriller-cum-space opera"--SFX

Cobley's debut, first published in the U.K. in 2009, is a well-constructed space opera with a sense of vast scope, populated with an array of beautifully differentiated intelligences both organic and artificial. A lost human colony planet, Darien, is discovered by an Earth spy ship in the Huvuun Deepzone, territory contested between the Brolturan Compact, who have allied with the militaristic Sendruka Hegemony, and the Imisil Mergence. Darien faces its own internal crisis as its Scottish, Russian, and Norwegian citizens and the intelligent Uvovo, whose planet the humans peacefully share, react to the return of Earth's influence and appearance of its representative, laid-back ambassador Robert Horst. The Uvovo face a menace from their ancient past that hates all organic life, while Horst and his contemporaries rely heavily on their AIs. Despite a few inconsistencies, this is a thick and satisfying 10-course meal of starchy pageantry, meaty characters, bitter losses, and sweet romance. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top