We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Stories of the Sioux, New Edition


Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Series of short stories, related by the author, handed down from generation to generation of the Lakota tribe.

About the Author

Luther Standing Bear is the author of Land of the Spotted Eagle, My People the Sioux, and My Indian Boyhood (all available in Bison Books editions). Frances Washburn is an assistant professor of American Indian studies and English at the University of Arizona and the author of Elsie's Business (Nebraska 2006).


"All of the stories are filled with the Indian's mysticism, with his magic lore and his sense of friendly alliance with the kindred animal spirits and of his ultimate faith in the 'Great Mystery.' They are retold ... in a forthright graphic style well adapted to their vigorous material and tradition." New York Times "These short pieces will serve to ... acquaint [readers] with the distinct charm and the almost classical simplicity with which the Indian story-tellers expressed themselves." Boston Transcript

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top