We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Twenty-One Truths about Love
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

MATTHEW DICKS is a writer and elementary school teacher. He has been published in the Hartford Courant, featured at the Books on the Nightstand retreat, and is a Moth StorySLAM champion. He is the author of three previous novels, Something Missing, Unexpectedly Milo, and Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend, an international bestseller. His novels have been translated into more than 25 languages. Dicks lives in Newington, Connecticut, with his wife, Elysha, and their two children.

Reviews

An Indie Next List - Great Reads from Booksellers You Trust - pick for 2019!
November 2019's LibraryReads pick!
One of Chatelaine's Best Romance's to Cozy Up With This Fall It's not quite enough to say that Twenty-one Truths About Love is original, it is radical and extraordinary. I have no idea how Matthew Dicks made a story comprised entirely of lists feel so human but that's exactly what this story is: honest, vulnerable, hilarious, and profoundly human.--Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones and the Six Twenty-one Truths About Love by Matthew Dicks is a fresh, humorous exploration of what makes us vulnerable and what makes us responsible, and you can't help but root for Daniel Mayrock even when he's at his most mistaken. This is a love story of great pathos and beauty.--Sharma Shields, author of The Cassandra An unconventional, endearing tale of impending fatherhood.--The Washington Post (18 Books to Read this Fall) A pleasure.--The Seattle Times Funny, sad, uplifting but always relatable. A must read for fans of Rachel Joyce and Gabrielle Zevin.--Shelf Awareness Often moving, sometimes shocking, always entertaining, this superbly crafted work emphasizes the incalculable variety of the novel form.--Booklist These lists--and the silences they outline--conjure a tense world. Dan's lists reflect his increasing desperation, ratcheting up the tension until life throws a potentially devastating curveball at him that pushes him to reassess everything he had thought to be true. A clever, genre-bending portrait of a man under pressure.--Kirkus Dicks has impeccable comedic timing and touchingly renders family dynamics.--Publishers Weekly A sometimes wild, sometimes serene, and always heartfelt ride.--The Harvard Crimson Recurring themes, including a pregnancy, money woes, and a developing friendship, give the novel momentum.--Minneapolis Star-Tribune Reasons we love Twenty-One Truths About Love:
1. It's deeply moving and full of emotion.
2. The protagonist is relatable (he quit his job to open a bookshop!) and so are his struggles.
3. It's a thoughtful reflection about love and what it means to be a good person.
4. Did we mention the protagonist owns a bookshop?
5. It's one of the most unique books out today, because:
6. It's written entirely in lists.--BookBub The most phenomenally entertaining and clever novel of the year. Poignant and hilarious...Grab a Little Debbie snack cake (or four) and curl up with what is sure to be a singular sensation in the literary world.--BookWeb A fresh, original new novel. Blending humorous and witty takes on life's idiosyncrasies with a raw and deeply human main character, dicks pens the perfect between-the-holidays book for readers who enjoyed Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore and How Hard Can it Be?--BookReporter If you're looking for a fun, fresh, and--I cannot stress this enough--incredibly heartwarming book about themes like fatherhood, family, and living up to one's potential, Matthew Dicks has crafted the perfectly imperfect character in Dan Mayrock, and his ingenious list-format makes this a can't-be-missed read.--The Young Folks

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top