We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

Free UK shipping on

10 million books

The Wild Way Home
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

An unforgettable middle-grade adventure about courage and family that will plunge you back into the Stone Age ... and then lead you home. Perfect for fans of Piers Torday and Stig of the Dump

About the Author

Sophie Kirtley grew up in Northern Ireland, where she spent her childhood climbing on hay bales, rolling down sand-dunes and leaping the raw Atlantic waves. Nowadays she lives in Wiltshire with her husband, three children and their mini-menagerie of pets and wild things. Sophie has always loved stories: she has taught English, and has worked in a theatre, a bookshop and a tiny pub where folk tell fairytales by candlelight. Sophie is also a prize-winning published poet. This is Sophie's debut novel.

Reviews

The Wild Way Home echoes Skellig and Stig of the Dump, with a bold, readable charm entirely its own ... Full of peril, sadness and wild joy, it's a timeslip adventure with a difference. * Guardian *
Underpinning this action-packed debut is a sensitive portrayal of how a child's fear of illness and change can be overcome by helping others and facing up to the truth. * Daily Mail *
This thrilling time-slip adventure oozes magic and heart * Bookseller EDITOR'S CHOICE *
So good I read it twice * Hilary McKay, author of The Skylarks' War *
I loved this unique quirky story full of heart * Jasbinder Bilan, author of Asha and the Spirit Bird *
An enchanting debut * Mail on Sunday, best fiction of the year *
With echoes of Skellig, this story is so smoothly told I barely stopped. A really powerful debut and definitely a must in every school library * Fleur Hitchcock for Waterstones Bookseller Reviews *
Delivers in spades. It made me laugh, cry, gasp and turn the pages for one more chapter every time I had to stop * Nizrana Farook, author of The Girl Who Stole an Elephant *
Reminiscent of Skellig and Stig of the Dump, The Wild Way Home is a lovely time-slip adventure full of heart, family and finding your feet when times are tough * Anna Fargher, author of Umbrella Mouse *
An exciting debut that takes us on a timeslip adventure into the deep past, where survival is at the point of a spear and family is the only thing you have to hold onto * A.F. Harrold *
Gorgeously magical and achingly real. I loved every character in this book and I devoured the whole story in a breathless rush because I couldn't stop reading (even when it made me cry) * Stephanie Burgis, author of The Dragon With a Chocolate Heart *
A beautiful story of things ancient and eternal. Kirtley convincingly creates and navigates the difficult landscapes of both Stone Age Ireland and contemporary family life in this big-hearted, gripping debut. * Kelly McCaughrain *
A tense, emotionally charged time-slip story ... deeply moving and at times heart-breaking. Coming soon and eminently worth the wait * Irish Examiner *
It is a heart-warming, magical book that has family, friendship and overcoming difficulties at its core. I couldn't put it down! * NetGalley user *
A captivating story of self-discovery and realising what is truly important in life * Scope For Imagination *
Perfect for an UKS2 Stone Age topic, or for a nature or history lover, this world was immersive and believable and characters, settings and plot line were written with extraordinary attention to detail. Beautiful! * NetGalley Reviewer *
Fans of Stig of the Dump or Michelle Paver's Wolf Brother series will very much enjoy Sophie Kirtley's vivid, exciting and heart-warming Stone Age timeslip story... Kirtley portrays the emotional truths of her story with equal skill, making that Charlie's sense of loss, love and home as vivid and affecting as the encounters with wolves. This is Sophie Kirtley's debut novel and very impressive. * Books For Keeps *
A captivating story of self-discovery and realising what is truly important in life... It is also a magnificent portrayal of Stone Age life with opportunities for discussion about values, survival and family. -- Top 10 Summer Holiday Books for Children * True Education Partnerships *
Enchanting debut about Charlie, who travels back to the Stone Age while running away from the feelings prompted by the arrival of a poorly baby brother. When Charlie saves a lost Stone Age boy from drowning, the pair brave storms, wolves and other dangers while trying to find their way home * Mail on Sunday *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top