We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

At Bukokan


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Cheap Trick: Robin Zander (vocals); Rick Nielsen (guitar); Tom Petersson (bass); Bun E. Carlos (drums).
  • Producers: Cheap Trick, Jack Douglas.
  • Reissue producer: Bruce Dickinson.
  • Recorded live in April 1978.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Cheap Trick: Robin Zander (vocals, guitar); Rick Neilsen (guitar); Tom Petersson (bass); Bun E. Carlos (drums).
  • Recorded live at the Budokan, Tokyo, Japan in April 1978.
  • This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks as well as multimedia computer files.
  • CHEAP TRICK AT BUDOKAN: THE COMPLETE CONCERT includes the original album's ten songs plus nine other tracks from the same concert, one more from a show in Osaka recorded on the same tour, multi-media content and lavish packaging.
  • Cheap Trick: Robin Zander (vocals); Rick Nielsen (guitar); Tom Petersson (bass); Bun E. Carlos (drums).
  • Producer: Cheap Trick.
  • Reissue producers: Bruce Dickinson, Cheap Trick.
  • Recorded live in Budokan, Tokyo, Japan in April 1978. Includes liner notes by Greg Siegel and Rick Nielson.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Strangely enough, Cheap Trick's big breakthrough, 1979's AT BUDOKAN, was almost never released stateside. The band had become superstars in Japan on the strength of their first three studio albums, and when they toured the country in '78, several of their shows were taped for a Japan-only live release. When the resulting album began racking up impressive sales in the U.S. as an expensive import, Epic wisely released it domestically, where it peaked at #4 on the Billboard charts and spawned the top ten hit single "I Want You To Want Me."
  • One of the reasons for the album's success is that it resembles the raw, direct approach of their self-titled debut, rather than their other two more produced releases. Add the energy of a concert setting, and you have one of the greatest live rock albums ever. If you were to own only a single Cheap Trick release, AT BUDOKAN would be the one (the entire AT BUDOKAN was merged with BUDOKAN II for 1998's 2-CD set CHEAP TRICK AT BUDOKAN: THE COMPLETE CONCERT).
Professional Reviews
Spin (p.86) - "[T]hey were a great power-pop band whose records still sound fresh today."

Entertainment Weekly (5/15/98, p.103) - "...Now, in correct sequence, with digitally remastered (and apparently amplified) audience shrieks, one of rock's crucial live documents just got a little livelier." - Rating: A
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top