We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!



Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Nils Grndahl (violin); Lars Greve (saxophone); Kasper Tranberg (trumpet); Morten Jessen (trombone).
  • Audio Mixer: Randall Dunn.
  • Recording information: Kungsten Studios, Gteborg; Sauna Studio, Copenhagen; Studio Valby, Copenhagen.
  • Photographer: Inger Ronnenfelt.
  • The fourth album by Danish punk upstarts Iceage is a study in sonic evolution, from the abrasive chaos of their debut to their more thoughtful 2018 incarnation. Their progression has been impressive, hopefully staving off the divisive nature that comes with changing direction; sharp turns are likely to perturb subsections of fans, but here the rudder was adjusted early enough that longtime admirers might have seen it coming since album two. Over time, space that has been carved out of the songwriting has given way to the overall density of the lyrical content, meaning that while the delivery might not be as urgent on Beyondless, it lands with a new degree of clarity.
  • Nevertheless, the album opens with all guns blazing, as "Hurrah" rattles off on people's insatiable, sometimes celebratory, relationship with violence, and does so in a sardonic explosion of gratuity. Leading straight into "Painkiller," the most prominent example of who Iceage are here; it's catchy, it's bombastic, and once it has its hooks in it won't let go, although all of this is still underpinned by Ronnenfelt's signature drawl.
  • The rest of the record plays out with an abundance of dramatic flair -- even if the pacing gradually reduces toward the back half -- riddling the run time with the slow angst of "Catch It," the uneasy cabaret of "Showtime," or the call-and-response-baiting closer "Beyondless." It would be easy to lament the raw energy of previous Iceage records, but if they had continued in that vein they would have risked obscurity by now; instead, they're a band who refuse to stop moving and exploring their sound, emerging every time with a more refined approach to the music. That they can achieve this with integrity should be celebrated, except maybe this time with a bottle of red wine instead of cheap beer. ~ Liam Martin
Professional Reviews
Spin - "It possess the freneticism of their early works and the experimentative energy of PLOWING, while streamlining those two powers together into something uniquely chaotic."

NME (Magazine) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "The dizzying, existentialist din of the opening and closing tracks fittingly showcase a band who continue to turn angst into an art..."

Paste (magazine) - "The Danish band hasn't lost the knack for shockwave riffs, as demonstrated by the thunderous blast of horns, guitars and percussion that surges through the start of 'Pain Killer'..."

Clash (Magazine) - "BEYONDLESS sees a sonic leap for the band, one where grandeur and brass have meshed with the ferocity of old."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top