We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Free UK shipping on

10 million books

Black Gold: Best of


Product Description
Product Details


1. Just Like Anyone

2. Cartoon

3. Closer To The Stars (Live)

4. Somebody To Shove

5. Close

6. String Of Pearls

7. Tied To The Tracks

8. Runaway Train

9. Sometime To Return

10. Misery

11. We 3

12. Without A Trace

13. I Will Still Be Laughing

14. Black Gold

15. Summer Of Drugs

16. Candy From A Stranger

17. Stranger (Live)

18. Can't Even Tell

19. Lonely For You

Performer Notes
  • Soul Asylum: Dave Pirner (vocals, guitar, horns, keyboards); Daniel Murphy (guitar, background vocals); Karl Mueller (bass); Sterling Campbell, Grant Young (drums).
  • Additional personnel: Joey Huffman, Ed Stasium, Ivan Neville, Jon Carin, Tim Ray, Booker T. Jones, Karen Grotberg, Henry Butler (keyboards).
  • Producers: Soul Asylum, Butch Vig, Lenny Kaye, Steve Jordan, Michael Blair.
  • Compilation producers: Lenny Kaye, Bruce Dickinson, Soul Asylum.
  • Recorded between 1988 and 1998. Includes liner notes by Lenny Kaye.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • The 2000 compilation BLACK GOLD: THE BEST OF SOUL ASYLUM is tilted in favor of the band's later work, with only four songs predating their 1992 commercial breakthrough. Therefore, this 19-track compilation is perhaps the best value for those fans of the band's early, scrappy, indie-label days (showcased on the brilliant "Cartoon" and "Just Like Anyone") who were so turned off by the mainstream omnipresence of GRAVE DANCERS UNION in the early '90s that they missed out on the pure pop joys of songs like "Somebody To Shove" and "Black Gold." The album also serves the useful dual function of condensing Soul Asylum's post-stardom albums, which are most politely described as "spotty," into their high points, and gathering some of the band's more obscure gems, like a terrific version of Victoria Williams' "Summer of Drugs" (from the SWEET RELIEF tribute) and the title track from their final album CANDY FROM A STRANGER, which perversely wasn't included on the album itself. This is a solid overview of an increasingly marginalized and underappreciated band.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (12/1/00, p.103) - "...These rough-hewn, Replacements-style rockers have always seemed most comfortable slugging it out on the periphery of rock stardom..." - Rating: B-

Q (12/00, p.151) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...These songs are full of pathos and are often memorably melodic..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top