We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Eric Clapton's Rainbow Concert [Remastered]


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Eric Clapton (vocals, guitar); Eric Clapton; Rick Grech (bass instrument); Rebop Kwaku Baah, Rebop (percussion); Pete Townshend, Ron Wood (vocals, guitar); Steve Winwood (vocals, keyboards); Jim Capaldi, Jim Karstein (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Bobby Pridden.
  • Audio Remixers: Jon Astley; Andy MacPherson.
  • Liner Note Author: Ray Coleman.
  • Recording information: Rainbow Theatre, London, England (01/13/1973).
  • Photographers: Robert Ellis ; Barry Wentzell.
  • In the two years following Eric Clapton's appearance at George Harrison's 1971 Concert For Bangladesh, the former guitar god took a sabbatical from playing, due to a number of personal problems. Alarmed at the state that his friend had fallen into, Pete Townshend arranged an all-star concert at London's Rainbow Theatre, where a band that included Ron Wood, ex-Blind Faith (Steve Winwood, Rick Grech) and current Traffic members (Jim Capaldi, Rebop) helped Slowhand play his first live show in two years.
  • RAINBOW CONCERT, an album of edited segments from the live show, finds a rejuvenated Clapton revisiting his days with Cream ("Badge"), backing Winwood's soulful vocals with some sanctified playing of his own ("Presence of The Lord"), and paying tribute to a fallen comrade ("Little Wing"). On Traffic's "Pearly Queen," the combination of Clapton's guitar with the swirling keyboards and thundering rhythm of the song make for some mesmerizing listening. A year later, Eric Clapton had a comeback album (461 OCEAN BOULEVARD) and a number one song ("I Shot The Sheriff").
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Home » Music » Blues » British Blues
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.

Back to top