We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Fake Sound of Progress


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Lostprophets: Jamie Oliver (vocals, turntables); Ian Watkins (vocals); Lee Gaze, Mike Lewis (guitar); Stuart Richardson (bass); Mike Chiplin (drums).
  • FAKE SOUND OF PROGRESS, the debut album for these Welsh nu-metallists, contains a few surprises, not the least of which are the band's literate lyrical approach and the inclusion of turntable scratching. With a production that tends to highlight vocalist Ian Watkins' distinctive wail, Lostprophets are masters at pop metal, as evidenced by tracks such as "Five Is a Four Letter Word" and "And She Told Me to Leave," the latter of which features skittering, jungle-influenced drums in a freewheeling, innovative take on the genre. Lyrically they're all about alienation, angst, and, er, Japanese monster movies, ("Shinobi vs. Dragon Ninja"), which hints at the not-so-hidden fact that this smart collection of punchy rock has a sly wit, too. The Lostprophets' predilection for experimentation and airy take on metal truisms bears fruit here--this is smart, disaffected, rock that leaves the listener craving more of the same.
Professional Reviews
Q (12/01, p.160) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...The Linkin Park crowd are likely to be willing converts..."

NME (Magazine) (10/6/01, p.42) - 7 out of 10 - "...They've buffed every nuance to a high sheen....straddling a gap between Fugazi and Limp Bizkit..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top