Home » Music » Pop » Gothic

Greatest Hits [Bonus Tracks]

Artist: The Cure

Elsewhere £16.37 £11.53   Save £4.84 (30%)
Free Shipping Worldwide
Ships from UK
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Edge
Album: Greatest Hits [Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Boys Don't Cry
2)    Forest, A
3)    Let's Go to Bed
4)    Lovecats, The
5)    Caterpillar, The
6)    In Between Days
7)    Close to Me
8)    Why Can't I Be You?
9)    Just Like Heaven
10)    Lullaby
11)    Lovesong
12)    Pictures of You
13)    Never Enough
14)    High
15)    Friday I'm in Love
16)    Mint Car
17)    Wrong Number
18)    Cut Here
19)    Just Say Yes

Performer Notes
  • This is a Hyper CD which contains regular audio tracks and provides a link to the artist's website with the help of an internet browser.
  • Personnel: Robert Smith (vocals, guitar, keyboards, bass); Laurence Tolhurst (various instruments, keyboards, drums); Porl Thompson, Perry Bamonte (guitar, keyboards); Mathieu Hartley, Roger O'Donnell (keyboards); Michael Dempsey, Simon Gallup, Phil Thornalley (bass); Steve Goulding, Andy Anderson, Boris Williams, Jason Cooper (drums); Saffron (background vocals).
  • Producers include: Robert Smith, David M. Allen, Steve Lyon, Mark Saunders, Mark Plati.
  • U.K. version features the bonus track "Pictures Of You."
  • By way of distinguishing GREATEST HITS from the other Cure collections on the market, let's first note that most of the doom and gloom for which the band is often derided is largely absent here due to the disinclusion of most of their early material. The bulk of this disc is devoted to mid-period cure classics such as the simultaneously innocent and randy "Let's Go to Bed," the breathless, horn-driven "Close to Me," and the bouncy, jazz-tinged "The Lovecats." To prove that the Cure didn't peter out after the Reagan era, GH reminds us that the transcendently effervescent pop gem "Friday I'm in Love" and the hard-driving rocker "Never Enough" stand as tall as the group's earlier efforts. A couple of attractive new tunes are tacked on for the benefit of those who've already got everything else here.

Professional Reviews
Q (12/01, p.154) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Everything here attests to their consistency, invention and singularity....the real buying incentive is a limited-edition bonus CD featuring the hits in spartan, acoustic guise..."

Q (12/01, p.154) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Everything here attests to their consistency, invention and singularity....the real buying incentive is a limited-edition bonus CD featuring the hits in spartan, acoustic guise..."

Alternative Press (01/02, p.76) - 9 out of 10 - "...A reminder that the Cure doesn't simply make great records. They write great songs as well..."

Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:12 November, 2001


1. Boy's Don't Cry

2. A Forest

3. Let's Go To Bed

4. The Lovecats

5. The Caterpillar

6. Inbetweendays

7. Close To Me

8. Why Can't It Be You

9. Just Likeheaven

10. Lullaby

11. Lovesong

12. Pictures Of You

13. Never Enough

14. High

15. Friday I'm In Love

16. Mint Car

17. Wrong Number

18. Cut Here

19. Just Say Yes

Tell a friend

Their Email:

3 review(s)
All Reviews
foxcee on
this is the perfect album to go out and buy for those of you who are looking into getting into the cure's music. this album contains many of the tracks that made the cure the respected and popular band that they are today. many classics are on this album including lovesong and boys don't cry. my personal favourite is just like heaven. alot of amazing songs to be heard.
Kimberley on
Have to agree with the other review - while this is an absolutely brilliant album (it's the Cure - how could it not be!?) it is very much a good 'introductory' album. This is the music you put on when friends are around to show them the absolute best of the Cure - but for most fans it will just leave you wanting more! All said and done though this is a must have album. brilliant
foxcee on
this is quite a good introductory album to the cure. if you have only recently heard them and want to hear more, then this is teh cd to get. otherwise, for more educated cure fans, i say stick to the original releases, there's nothing on here that you haven't heard before. the cure are great, listen to their music.

Review this Product


Related Searches


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.