Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Greatest Hits the Lovin Spoonful


Product Description
Product Details


1. Do You Believe In Magic

2. You Didn't Have To Be So Nice

3. Daydream

4. You Baby

5. Did You Ever Have To Make Up Your Mind

6. Wild About My Lovin'

7. Younger Girl

8. On The Road Again

9. Didn't Want To Have To Do It

10. Jug Band Music

11. Summer In The City

12. Rain On The Roof

13. Pow (Theme From "What's Up, Tiger Lily?")

14. Nashville Cats

15. Lovin' You

16. Darlin' Companion

17. Coconut Grove

18. Full Measure

19. Darling Be Home Soon

20. Lonely (Amy's Theme)

21. You're A Big Boy Now

22. Six O'clock

23. She Is Still A Mystery

24. Money

25. Younger Generation

26. Never Going Back

Performer Notes
  • The Lovin' Spoonful: John Sebastian, Zal Yanovsky, Joe Butler, Steve Boone, Jerry Yester.
  • Producers: Erik Jacobsen, Chip Douglas, The Lovin' Spoonful, Joe Wissert, Jack Lewis.
  • Compilation producer: Rob Santos.
  • Recorded from 1965-1968. Originally released on Kama Sutra. Includes liner notes by Ben Edmonds.
  • Digitally remastered by Bob Irwin (Sundazed Studios, Coxsackie, New York).
  • Liner Note Author: Ben Edmonds.
  • Photographers: Henry Diltz; Don Paulsen.
  • The Lovin' Spoonful was one of the very first bands to take part in the folk-rock boom of the mid-1960s, creating something of an East Coast equivalent to the Byrds' seminal L.A. jangle. The original group's lineup was regrettably short-lived, all their classic material getting released on Buddha records, so the label's definitive GREATEST HITS collection presented none of the usual cross-licensing difficulties.
  • All the highlights of the Spoonful's '60s discography are here--the airy, transcendent pop of the jubilant "Do You Believe in Magic" and the almost Association-like "You Didn't Have to Be So Nice," the tougher rock sound of "Summer in the City," the romantic ballad "Darling Be Home Soon," and more. The rootsier side of the ensemble can be heard as well, on the likes of "Did You Ever Have to Make Up Your Mind" and "Jug Band Music." Led by John Sebastian's mellifluous voice and graceful songwriting and Zal Yanovsky's chiming guitar, the Spoonful turned out some of the most memorable singles of the '60s, and they're all right here.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (3/10/00, p.71) - "...a generous 26-track compilation, main man John Sebastian's knack for the indelible melody is writ large...and the band's unique folk-country-pop hybrid still sounds astonishingly fresh..." - Rating: A-

Q (7/00, pp.131-3) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...A timely reminder of the amazing diversity and sheer quality of [their] output over 4 studio albums in an amazing 3-year period....exhilarating..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk
Home » Music » Pop » Folk Rock
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top