We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Free UK shipping on

10 million books

Herb Alpert Definitive Hits


Product Description
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Herb Alpert (trumpet); Janet Jackson, Lisa Keith (vocals); Tijuana Brass.
  • Producers include: Herb Alpert, Jerry Moss, Burt Bacharach, Jose Quintana, Randy Badazz.
  • Compilation producers: Herb Alpert, Larry Levine, Mike Ragogna.
  • Includes liner notes by Herb Alpert and Quincy Jones.
  • Digitally remastered using 20-bit remastering technology by Doug Sax and Robert Hadley (The Mastering Lab, Los Angeles, California).
  • Personnel: Herb Alpert (trumpet); Lisa Keith (vocals).
  • Audio Remixers: Don Hahn; Bryan Stott.
  • Liner Note Authors: Quincy Jones; Burt Bacharach.
  • Arrangers: Herb Alpert; Juan Carlos Calder¢n.
  • Before his run at the top of the easy-listening charts, Herb Alpert was already a music-industry veteran, writing and producing hits for Sam Cooke and Jan & Dean. Alpert also deserves a place in history as co-founder and owner of A&M Records, one of the most successful independent labels of all time. A solid 20-track compilation spanning Alpert's career, DEFINITIVE HITS covers the trumpeter/singer/label executive's glory years--the 1961-'68 stretch between "The Lonely Bull" and the Burt Bacharach-penned vocal showcase "This Guy's in Love with You." However, it also conveniently gathers material from the post-Tijuana Brass period when Alpert specialized in easy-listening fusion hits like the disco-tinged jazz-funk of 1979's "Rise" and the adult-contemporary R&B of 1987's "Diamonds," which features A&M Records' then-new star Janet Jackson on lead vocals. But, of course, the real meat of the collection is the brilliantly arranged suburban exotica of "Spanish Flea," "A Taste of Honey," and "Whipped Cream," along with other fine examples of Alpert's Latin-tinged pop.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top