We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Like a Virgin [Remastered] [Remaster]


Product Description
Product Details


1. Material Girl

2. Angel

3. Like A Woman

4. Over And Over

5. Love Don't Live Here Anymore

6. Dress You Up

7. Shoo-Bee-Doo

8. Pretender

9. Stay

Performer Notes
  • Includes rare 12" dance remixes previously unavailable on CD.
  • Personnel: Madonna (vocals); Nile Rodgers (guitar, Synclavier); Lenny Pickett (saxophone); Rob Sabino (synthesizer); Bernard Edwards (bass); Tony Thompson (drums); Jimmy Bralower (programming); Curtis King, Frank Simms, George Simms, Brenda King (background vocals).
  • Digitally remastered by Ted Jensen (Sterling Sound, New York, New York).
  • Personnel: Madonna (vocals, background vocals); Nile Rodgers (guitar, Synclavier); Lenny Pickett (saxophone); Robert Sabino (synthesizer, bass synthesizer); Jimmy Bralower (drum programming); Curtis King, Frank Simms, Brenda King (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Jason Corsaro.
  • Audio Remixers: Michael Hutchinson; Jellybean.
  • Photographer: Steven Meisel.
  • Arranger: Nile Rodgers .
  • Madonna had already made serious waves with her 1983 self-titled debut, springing her irresistibly exuberant, sexy dance-pop onto an unsuspecting public. But it was 1984's LIKE A VIRGIN that exhibited the calculated pop mastery that would define the singer's career. Everything from the cover art (which features Madonna splayed out provocatively in a wedding dress) to the sleek production from Chic's Nile Rogers announced Madonna's arrival as the queen of pop.
  • If only for the album's two gargantuan smash singles, the bouncy, coy, gold-digging ode "Material Girl" and the racy title cut, LIKE A VIRGIN would go down in pop history. The dominating force of both songs, their videos, and their subject matter helped make Madonna a household name. The rest of the album delivers too. The energetic shimmy of "Dress You Up" and "Angel" are infectious dance floor workouts, and her cover of Rose Royce's "Love Don't Live Here Anymore" is sharp and compelling. LIKE A VIRGIN still shines as an indispensable `80s dance-pop classic.
Professional Reviews
Q (7/01, p.131) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...The record that propelled her into the stratosphere - and rightly so. The songs are smart, funny, sexy and irresistible..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top