We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Live in the Heart of the City


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • 2 LPs on 1 CD.
  • Whitesnake: David Coverdale (vocals); Micky Moody, Bernie Marsden (guitar); Jon Lord (keyboards); Neil Murray (bass); Ian Paice (drums).
  • Recorded live at The Hammersmith Odeon.
  • Personnel: David Coverdale (vocals, piano, percussion); Micky Moody , Bernie Marsden (guitar); Stuart Wickes, Jon Lord (keyboards); Ian Paice, David Dowle (drums).
  • Audio Remasterer: Peter Mew.
  • Recording information: Hammersmith (11/23/1978-06/24/1980).
  • Photographers: Hiroshi Ohno; George Bodnar.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Helen; William Fyffe; Barry Newman; Alan Gordon.
  • Virtually every hard rock band in the universe managed to release a live (usually double) album in the late '70s, and Whitesnake were certainly no exception. Live.... In the Heart of the City does a pretty good job of collecting the highlights from the band's first four releases, as well as a few Deep Purple standards (singer David Coverdale, organist Jon Lord, and drummer Ian Paice are all Purple alumni). Whitesnake favorites such as "Walking in the Shadow of the Blues," "Ready an' Willing," and "Fool for Your Loving" heat up the crowd, but it's the extended version of "Lovehunter" that gets things boiling, thanks to Micky Moody's extended slide guitar solo. The audience participation on "Ain't No Love in the Heart of the City" provides another thrilling moment, but the band truly brings the house down with a last encore of Deep Purple's "Mistreated" -- a blues of monstrous proportions that becomes an 11-minute catharsis for Coverdale. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top