We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!


Hurry - Only 4 left in stock!

Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Alan Pasqua (piano); Michael Brecker (tenor saxophone); Willie Olenick (trumpet, flugelhorn); John Clark (French horn); Jack Schatz (trombone); Roger Rosenberg (flute); Dave Tofani (bass clarinet); Dave Holland (bass); Jack DeJohnette (drums).
  • Recorded at Sound On Sound, New York, New York on October 10-11, 1993.
  • Personnel: Alan Pasqua (piano); Roger Rosenberg (alto flute); David Tofani (bass clarinet); Michael Brecker (tenor saxophone); Willie Olenick (trumpet, flugelhorn); John Clark (French horn); Jack Schatz (trombone, bass trombone); Jack DeJohnette (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Joe Barbaria.
  • Recording information: Sound On Sound Recording, Inc., New York, NY (10/10/1993/10/11/1993).
  • Photographer: Joanne Dugan.
  • West Coast-based pianist Alan Pasqua makes his debut in fine acoustic jazz fashion, backed by a big-name rhythm section: Dave Holland and Jack DeJohnette. Michael Brecker contributes smoking tenor on "Rio Grande," "The Law of Diminishing Returns," and "L'Inverno." On "Acoma," "A Sleeping Child," "I'll Take You Home Again, Kathleen," and Cole Porter's "All Of You," Pasqua swings effortlessly in a subtle trio idiom. The switch between 4/4 and 3/4 time on the melody choruses of "All of You" is particularly clever and effective.
  • The remainder of the selections feature a small background horn section that includes -- in different combinations -- John Clark on French horn, Willie Olenick on trumpet and flugelhorn, Roger Rosenberg on alto flute, Jack Schatz on trombone and bass trombone, and Dave Tofani on bass clarinet. The orchestral effect is not unlike that heard on Herbie Hancock's Speak Like a Child. Compositionally, the beautiful ballad "Twilight" and the majestic title track stand out. ~ David R. Adler
Professional Reviews
Down Beat (1/95, p.43) - 4.5 Stars - Very Good Plus - "...This unassuming, often low-key album sneaks up on you in the absence of expectations, and insinuates itself into your consciousness....glowing, thoughtful tunes....a subtle, charming recording..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Piano
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top