We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Free UK shipping on

10 million books



Product Description
Product Details


1. Parce Mihi Domine

2. Primo Tempore

3. Sanctus

4. Regnantem Sempiterna

5. O Salutaris Hostia

6. Procedentem Sponsum

7. Pulcherrima Rosa

8. Parce Mihi Domine

9. Beata Viscera

10. De Spineto Nata Rosa

11. Credo

12. Ave Maris Stella

13. Virgo Flagellatur

14. Oratio Ieremiae

15. Parce Mihi Domine

Performer Notes
  • The Hilliard Ensemble, known for its serious yet musical approach to plainchant, organum, early polyphony and even contemporary music, breaks new ground here. Added to the normal four male voices is soprano saxophonist Jan Garbarek. What could a saxophonist possibly have to do with vocal music composed before 1650? Not much perhaps, but this combination creates some wonderful and rare colors. Inside the monastery of St. Gerold, these five musicians were not too concerned about the "type" of music they were making; instead they just made music.
  • Jan Garbarek's sax improvisations arch over the vocal foundation, and the monastery itself is the sixth musician. The natural echoes and fades create seamlessness and add a layer of religious mist to this already spiritual music.
  • A 20th century instrument, four voices and music composed almost 500 years before their births conjoin to create a timeless sound. If ever there were spacious music, this is it. Garbarek sometimes spins a Kenny G-like melody way above the singers and other times blends almost imperceptibly. Perhaps the music is at its best during the latter case, but throughout this disc, the musicians are fully committed to their craft.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz
Home » Music » Classical
Back to top