We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Free UK shipping on all

10 million books

Phoebe Snow


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Phoebe Snow (vocals, acoustic guitar), Steve Burgh (guitar), David Broberg (dobro), John "Zoot" Sims (tenor saxophone), Margaret Ross (harp), "Teddy" Wilson (piano), Bob James (organ), Steve Burgh, Chuck Israels, Chuck Delmonico (acoustic bass), Hugh McDonald (electric bass), Steve Mosely (drums), Ralph McDonald (percussion).
  • Recorded at A&R Studios, New York between October 2nd and November 20th, 1973. Tracks 1-9 originally released on Shelter (LP-2019).
  • All songs written by Phoebe Snow except "Good Times" (Sam Cooke) and "San Francisco Bay Blues" (Jesse Fuller).
  • The gold disc version of PHOEBE SNOW contains 7 bonus tracks: 6 are demo versions of songs on PHOEBE SNOW and 1 is a b-side.
  • Personnel: Phoebe Snow (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar); The Persuasions (vocals, background vocals); David Bromberg (guitar, acoustic guitar, dobro); Steve Burgh (guitar, electric guitar); Dave Mason (guitar); Hugh McDonald (electric guitar, electric bass); Steve Burch, Steven McDonald (electric guitar); Margaret Ross (harp); Zoot Sims (saxophone, tenor saxophone); T. Wilson, Teddy Wilson (piano); Bob James (organ, keyboards); Hilary James (organ); Chuck Delmonico, Chuck Israels (acoustic bass); Steve Mosley (drums, percussion); Steve Gadd (drums); Ralph MacDonald (percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: Phil Ramone.
  • Recording information: 1973.
  • Photographer: Ed Caraeff.
  • It's been said many times that being difficult to categorize or pigeonhole can be the kiss of death commercially, and no one bears that out more than Phoebe Snow -- a pearl of a singer who never caught on because she simply didn't fit neatly into any one category. Known primarily for her haunting single "Poetry Man," this self-titled classic (which was recorded in 1973 and released on LP in 1974) found the earthy vocalist drawing on everything from folk and pop to soul, jazz, and blues. If anyone has bridged the gap between Joni Mitchell and Aretha Franklin, it's Snow, who is as confident on the soul-influenced "Good Times" as she is on the introspective jazz offering "Harpo's Blues." In fact, many of the players backing Snow are jazzmen, including cool jazz great Zoot Sims (tenor sax) and piano legend Teddy Wilson. With as many risks as she takes, the album is generally quite accessible. ~ Alex Henderson
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top