We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Free UK shipping on

10 million books

Something Else: Deluxe Edition


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Kinks: Ray Davies, Dave Davies (vocals, guitar); Pete Quaife (bass); Mick Avory (drums).
  • Personnel: Ray Davies (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Dave Davies (vocals, guitar); Peter Quaife (bass guitar); Mick Avory (drums).
  • Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Andrew Sandoval.
  • Liner Note Author: Peter Doggett.
  • Recording information: Playhouse Theatre, London (01/1967-10/1967); Pye Studios, No. 2 (01/1967-10/1967); Playhouse Theatre, London (08/04/1967/10/25/1967); Pye Studios, No. 2 (08/04/1967/10/25/1967).
  • Having closed out their hard-rock period, the Kinks went pastoral on SOMETHING ELSE. It's an album of folk and pop songs about the quiet pleasures of family life and the English countryside, dotted with harpsichords, acoustic guitars, and ethereal harmonies. A radical rejection of the Age of Aquarius, it was one of the boldest pop albums of its time, a commercial failure but an artistic landmark. In "Two Sisters," Ray Davies sings about a wild, swinging woman and her homemaking sister, and dares to side with the latter. Other songs include "Afternoon Tea," surely the first rock song ever written on that subject, and the majestic "Waterloo Sunset," which has been described as the most beautiful song ever written in the English language.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (9/14/00, p.180) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...An eccentric brand of rock & roll that had far more to do with Thomas Hardy than Chuck Berry....The arrangements are quieter and occasionally employ keyboard and strings....The album's gem is its concluding track, 'Waterloo Sunset'..."

Mojo (Publisher) (9/03, p.124) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...SOMETHING ELSE, originally released in 1967, was the anti-PEPPER..."

Uncut (magazine) (p.90) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "SOMETHING ELSE is The Kinks at their best, a flawless 13-song suite of elegant and quintessentially English songwriting..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top