We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Songs for Distingu‚ Lovers [180g]


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Billie Holiday (vocals); Ben Webster (tenor saxophone); Harry "Sweets" Edison (trumpet); Jimmie Rowles (piano); Barney Kessel (guitar); Red Mitchell (bass); Larry Bunker, Alvin Stoller (drums).
  • Producer: Norman Granz.
  • Reissue producer: Michael Lang.
  • Recorded at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, California between January 3 & 9, 1957. Includes liner notes by James Patrick.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • This is part of the Verve Master Edition series.
  • Personnel includes: Billie Holiday, Ben Webster, Harry "Sweets" Edison, Jimmy Rowles, Barney Kessel, Red Mitchell, Jimmy Cleveland, Al Cohn, Hank Jones, Kenny Burrell, Milt Hinton, Osie Johnson.
  • Recorded in 1957 and 1959.
  • Comprised of the last five studio dates Holiday did for Verve, SONGS FOR DISTINGUE LOVERS finds Lady Day operating within her ideal environment; that of a small jazz combo. Accompanied by a legendary line-up including Sweets Edison, Ben Webster and Barney Kessel, Holiday sang with the clear enunciation and easy swing that had become her trademark. Wrapping her phrasing around standards by Rodgers & Hart, The Gershwins and Cole Porter, Billie Holiday demonstrated how years of singing with various jazz bands sharpened her ability to turn a song on its head through slight fluctuations in pitch and tone color.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top