We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Sufficiently Breathless [Remastered]


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Captain Beyond: Rod Evans (vocals); Rhino (acoustic, electric & slide guitars); Reese Wynans (acoustic & electric pianos); Lee Dorman (bass); Marty Rodriguez (drums, background vocals); Guille Garcia (congas, timabales, percussion).
  • Additional personnel: Paul Hornsby (organ).
  • Engineers: Mike Stone, John Stronach, Dave Sparks.
  • Recorded at Capricorn Studios, Macon, Georgia & The Record Plant, Sausalito, California. Originally released as Capricorn (115).
  • Digitally remastered by Fred Meyer (Polygram Studios).
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered from the original master tapes.
  • Personnel: Lee Dorman (vocals, keyboards); Rod Evans (vocals); Larry "Rhino" Rheinhart (guitar, acoustic guitar, slide guitar); Reese Wynans (electric guitar, piano, electric piano, keyboards); Paul Hornsby (organ, keyboards); Marty Rodriguez (drums, background vocals); Martin Rodriguez (drums); Guille Garcia (congas, timbales, percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: Captain Beyond.
  • Recording information: Capricorn Studios, Macon, GA (1973); The Record Plant, Sausalito, CA (1973).
  • Illustrators: Joe Petagno; Carl Ramsey.
  • Photographer: Bob Jenkins.
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Paul Hornsby.
  • Arranger: Captain Beyond.
  • Captain Beyond's second album must have confused the diehards. Where their self-titled debut had upheld the basic progressive heavy rock blueprint of lengthy instrumental explorations, constant tempo changes, and opaque, yet cinematic lyrics, Sufficiently Breathless downplays them for a subtler, song-oriented production. The predominant mood is snappy and businesslike; no track runs over five and a half minutes. This newfound conciseness certainly benefited such heavy-rocking efforts as "Distant Sun," even as the band stuck to their diverse guns on the moody, acoustic title track and the sleek Latin funk rock of "Bright Blue Eyes" and "Everything's a Circle." The results were intelligent and self-assured, yet the band's never-ending bad luck again intervened when vocalist Rod Evans quit in late 1973, leaving the album adrift. The band would proffer a markedly different style on their return four years later, but anyone dismissing progressive heavy rock as an oxymoron should definitely check out this album first. ~ Ralph Heibutzki
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top