We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!



Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Sonata Arctica (Heavy Metal): Henrik Klingenberg (Hammond b-3 organ, keyboards); Marko Paasikoski (bass guitar); Tony Kakko, Jani Liimatainen, Tommy Portimo.
  • Personnel: Tony Kakko (vocals, keyboards); Jarkko Martikainen (vocals); Milla V (spoken vocals); Jani Liimatainen (guitar, acoustic guitar); Peter Engberg (acoustic guitar, bouzouki, cavaquinho, harp); Kati Nienela (violin, viola); Elar Kuiv (violin); Anna-Lenna Kangas (viola); Thomas Airola (cello); Oskari Hannula (double bass); Tommy Portimo (drums).
  • Additional personnel: Tarja Vanhala, Tuomas Airola, Starbuck.
  • Recording information: 2ndrate Soundcave; Jani's Lair; Sonic Pump Studio; Studio 57; The Lanceland Room; Tico Studios.
  • Illustrators: Gina Pitk?nen; Janne Pitk?nen.
  • Photographers: Gina Pitk?nen; Janne Pitk?nen.
  • Named after the Finnish word for "dreams," Unia was Sonata Arctica's fifth and heretofore most controversial studio album, being that it found the group experimenting with novel songwriting techniques, and diverting from the straight-and-narrow of their career path for the first time. Problem was, these new elements mostly served to subvert the group's extremely competent and popular power metal formula with unprecedented doses of commercialism -- likely due to band leader and chief composer Tony Kakko's recent taste of pop success through a song he wrote for the winner of Finland's American Idol equivalent. Whatever the cause, this sudden change of direction sparked a veritable war of words across the Internet among their fans, which was somewhat ironic if you consider that Sonata Arctica's material was always relatively predictable -- just heavier and faster. Change is change, though, and the familiar presence of a few semi-fantastical lyrical themes ("For the Sake of Revenge," "Fly with the Black Swan") and overly dramatic ballads ("Under Your Tree," "Good Enough Is Good Enough") apparently wasn't enough to make up for the sudden disappearance of those rapid-fire power-thrashers of yore (flashes of which can nevertheless be heard in album standouts "Caleb" and "The Harvest"). And yet, if one were to come upon Unia without the prejudices of expectations past, they would probably appreciate the unquestionable hooky immediacy delivered by anthemic heavy rockers such as "Paid in Full," "It Won't Fade" and the brilliantly named "My Dream's But a Drop of Fuel for a Nightmare." So perhaps time will show that Unia's change of approach, and the heated debate it spawned, really were much ado about nothing, but first time arrivals will still want to pick up one of Sonata Arctica's earlier releases if they want a proper introduction to their prevalent power metal template. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top