We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!



Product Description
Product Details


1. Hey Grandma

2. Mr. Blues

3. Fall On You

4. 8.05


5. Come In The Morning

6. Omaha

7. Naked, If I Want To

8. Rounder

9. Someday

10. Ain't No Use

11. Sitting By The Window

12. Changes

13. Lazy Me

14. Indifference

15. Looper

16. Sweet Ride

17. Bitter Wind

18. Place And The Time

19. Miller's Blues

20. Big

21. Skip's Song

22. You Can Do Anything

23. Murder In My Heart

24. For The Judge

25. Can't Be So Bad

26. Just Like Gene Autry

27. Foxtrot

28. He

29. Motorcycle Irene

30. Funky Tunk

31. Rose Coloured Eyes

32. If You Can't Learn From Your Mistakes

33. Ooh Mama Ooh

34. Ain't That A Shame

35. Trucking Man

36. Captain Nemo

37. What's To Choose

38. Going Nowhere

39. I Am Not Willing

40. It's A Beautiful Day Today

41. Right Before My Eyes

42. Truly Fine Citizen

43. Hoochie

44. Soul Stew

45. Seeing

Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Bob Mosley (vocals, guitar); Skip Spence, Peter Lewis (guitar); Jerry Miller (bass); Don Stevenson (drums).
  • Additional personnel: Arthur Godfrey (banjo, ukulele); Lou Waxman And His String Orchestra.
  • Compilation producer: Bob Irwin.
  • Recorded between 1967-1969. Includes liner notes by David Fricke.
  • All tracks are in stereo except tracks 22-23 on disc 1 which are mono.
  • Digitally remastered by Vic Anesini (Sony Music Studios, New York, New York).
  • VINTAGE - THE VERY BEST OF MOBY GRAPE includes a 27-page booklet containing extensive biographical information, track-by-track annotations and photos.
  • Personnel: Arthur Godfrey (banjo, ukulele).
  • Audio Mixer: Vic Anesini.
  • Audio Remasterer: Vic Anesini.
  • Liner Note Author: David Fricke.
  • Recording information: 03/12/1967-11/24/1968.
  • The subject of an intense label bidding war, Moby Grape's eponymous debut held great promise. Their three-part harmonies, trio of chiming guitars and five-man songwriting threat were an anomaly in a San Francisco scene where jamming was held in greater regard than actual song structure. Columbia Records won the bidding and proceeded to overhype the band into oblivion, at one point simultaneously releasing five singles, confusing retailers and the record buying public. Matters were made worse by the band's proclivity for bad behavior, and Moby Grape broke up in 1969, remembered more for their public relations fiascos than their considerable musical prowess.
Professional Reviews
Village Voice (3/1/94, p.5) - Ranked #9 in the Village Voice's list of the 10 Best Reissues Of 1993.

NME (Magazine) (6/12/93, p.37) - 9 - Excellent Plus - "...[Moby Grape] produced a sound and vision that was theirs alone....[a] stormer that seethes with 60s teen spirit...."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.

Back to top