Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

White Bird Release


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Steven Hess (vibraphone, drums); William Lowman (acoustic bass).
  • Author: Dr. Robert Goddard.
  • On 2009's WHITE BIRD RELEASE, former Labradford singer/guitarist Mark Nelson once again dons his Pan American guise, offering up a mesmerizing collection of ambient/post-rock compositions. At times, Nelson incorporates grainy textures that recall Fennesz (see "There Can Be No Thought of Finishing"), always delicately balancing the electronic and acoustic equation of his consistently entrancing aesthetic.
Professional Reviews
The Wire (p.56) - "The opener, 'There Can Be No Thought Of Finishing' broadcasts from some intimate, centrifugal place deep within the mists of its own reverb, a place from which it sounds like guitars have neither been played or heard heretofore."

Pitchfork (Website) - "[I]t's proof of how ambient music can benefit from a songwriter's disciplined ear and instinct for concision."

Signal To Noise (magazine) (p.59) - "'Is a Problem to Occupy Generations' demonstrates a capacity to be simultaneously ambient and experimental....WHITE BIRD RELEASE features some of Nelson's most beautiful music yet."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Post Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top