We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Free UK shipping on

10 million books

The Very Best of Roger Whittaker


Product Description
Product Details


1. Durham Town

2. The Last Farewell

3. Morning Has Broken

4. Mamy Blue

5. The Skye Boat Song

6. Morning, Please Don't Come

7. Quel Monde Merveilleux ( What A Wonderful World )

8. He Ain't Heavy He's My Brother

9. New World In The Morning

10. I Don't Believe In If Anymore

11. Streets Of London

12. Mexican Whistler

13. Dirty Old Town

14. A Taste Of Honey

15. Good Morning Starshine

16. By The Time I Get To Phoenix

17. From Both Sides Now

18. Why

Performer Notes
  • Originally released as a 2 LP set.
  • British baritone Roger Whitaker has become a standard in the ballad-pop genre over his thirty-year career. This collection of hits includes the chart-topping career-maker from the 1970s, "The Last Farewell," as well as "Morning Has Broken" and "Good Morning Starshine."
  • This 16-track, 54-minute discount-priced anthology eschews the greatest-hits approach (the nearest thing is the 1978 easy-listening chart entry "If I Knew Just What to Say") in favor of Roger Whittaker's takes on ballads and light pop songs of the 1970s, most associated with other performers. As usual, Whittaker's interpretations are simultaneously warm and uninvolved, which means he is more effective on the more generic material but out of his depth with the relative complexity of "Imagine" or "Send In the Clowns." Yet his unvarying evenness of tone can also do a disservice to songs that have benefited from more impassioned readings -- for example, in Barbra Streisand's hands, "Evergreen" sounds like a powerful song not just because she's a great singer, but also because she brings such conviction to it. Listen to Whittaker sing it, and you realize what a mediocre song it is. ~ William Ruhlmann
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Vocal » General
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top